It took 109 years, but at long last Canada is on top of the world.

For the first time in history, Team Canada presented by Sobeys claimed the Davis Cup title on Sunday, sweeping Australia in the final with two straight-set wins courtesy of Denis Shapovalov and Félix Auger-Aliassime.

Canada clinched the title in their third Davis Cup final, having lost in their debut in 1913 and then in the first edition of the revamped Finals in 2019.

After two dramatic comeback wins in the quarter and semifinals, the final was relatively straight forward, with Shapovalov and Auger-Aliassime both defeating their Australian opponents to seal the win after just two matches.

The Davis Cup team included Felix Auger-Aliassime (Montreal, PQ), Denis Shapovalov (Richmond Hill, ON), Vasek Pospisil, (Vernon, BC), Gabriel Diallo (Montreal, PQ), Alexis Galarneau (Laval, PQ) and Captain Frank Dancivec (Niagara Falls, ON).

For the complete Tennis Canada Story, click here.

Photo: Tennis Canada