Tennis Alberta is pleased to announce that the following athletes have been selected to represent Alberta at the 2017 Canada Summer Games.  The games will be held in Winnipeg, Manitoba July 28 – August 13, 2017.  Tennis has been scheduled for the second week of the games (August 5-13) and will be held at the Winnipeg Lawn Tennis Club.

U18 Boys U18 Girls U16 Boys U16 Girls
Cleeve Harper Kirsten Prelle Tyler Sinclair Emma Rutherford
Oscar Yang Ashleigh Jacobs Shourya Verma Karin Hamilton

Tennis Alberta recognizes the level of commitment and hours of hard work these athletes have devoted to developing themselves into well rounded high performance athletes.  We are very excited for these athletes and we would like to wish them all the best at the Canada Summer Games.

The games which are held every two years and alternate between summer and winter provide athletes the opportunity to compete in interprovincial/territorial competition on a national stage.  The Canada Summer Games has been a catalyst for developing top tier athletes and providing substantial sports growth across Canada.

All ticket packages, individual sport passes, medal competition and Opening and Closing Ceremonies tickets for the 2017 Canada Summer Games in Winnipeg, Manitoba are now on sale through Ticketmaster.

The Opening Ceremonies will be held on Friday, July 28, 2017, at the MTS Centre. The Closing Ceremonies will take place Sunday, August 13, 2017, at the Investors Group Field.  At Closing Ceremonies, the torch will be passed to the 2019 Canada Winter Games in Red Deer, Alberta.  The preliminary sport schedule overview is available at

To purchase tickets visit Parents and family members of athletes are encouraged to purchase their tickets early, especially for the medal rounds. Parents are reminded to also book their accommodation if they haven’t already done so.  For more information on accommodations visit

We encourage everyone to follow and cheer on our provincial team on social media using #TennisTeamAlberta

Congratulations to the selected athletes! Go Alberta Go!